TEEN & ADULT DRIVERS ED.

Texas Online Driver's Ed.

TDLR LICENSED #C3325

  • Teens 14-17 & Adults 18+
  • Get your license in no time!
  • Learn on any device, from anywhere
  • Videos, animations, audio, and more
  • Convenient, fast, easy

TEEN & ADULT DRIVERS ED.

Texas Online Driver's Ed.

TDLR LICENSED #C3325

  • Teens 14-17 & Adults 18+
  • Get your license in no time!
  • Learn on any device, from anywhere
  • Videos, animations, audio, and more
  • Convenient, fast, easy

Texas Online Driver's Ed. Courses

AGES 14-17

Teen Driver's Ed.

  • State minimum 32hr course.
  • Get your learner permit & license.
  • Instant certificate delivery.
  • Learn from anywhere!

Ready to get your first Texas driver’s license? This is the course required by the state. Learn from home, and get on the road in no time! This course will prepare you for your exams and guide you through the process of obtaining your first license.

Starting at: $65

AGES 18+

Adult Driver's Ed.

  • State minimum 6hr course.
  • Skip the DPS, written test online.
  • Learn from anywhere!
  • Learn defensive driving strategies.

Over the age of 18 and ready for your Texas driver’s license? Take this 6 hour course and you are immediately eligible to visit the dPS for your driving test. Or take the course, and get your Adult learner permit. It’s fast, easy, and will have you on the road in no time.

Starting at: $60

TX Online Driver's Ed.

AGES 14-17

Teen Driver's Ed.

  • State minimum 32hr course.
  • Get your learner permit & license.
  • Instant certificate delivery.
  • Learn from anywhere!

Ready to get your first Texas driver’s license? This is the course required by the state. Learn from home, and get on the road in no time! This course will prepare you for your exams and guide you through the process of obtaining your first license.

Starting at: $65

AGES 18+

Adult Driver's Ed.

  • State minimum 6hr course.
  • Skip the DPS, written test online.
  • Learn from anywhere!
  • Learn defensive driving strategies.

Over the age of 18 and ready for your Texas driver’s license? Take this 6 hour course and you are immediately eligible to visit the dPS for your driving test. Or take the course, and get your Adult learner permit. It’s fast, easy, and will have you on the road in no time.

Starting at: $60

Features & Benefits

Learning online makes getting your license easy!
Easily work your driver's ed. into your busy schedule.

your-pace-200x200-1

Learn at your pace.

Log in and out of the course as often as you like. You can complete it in one day or spread it out over a few months if you want to!

devices-icon-200x200-1

From any device!

The course is accessible on any device with an internet connection! Learn from your mobile, desktop, laptop, or tablet from anywhere!

media-icon-200x200-1

Animations, Audio, Video.

Enjoy the fun animations, stunning graphics, and audio read-along features that make this course a breeze to complete.

fast-certificate-200x200-1

FAST Certificate Delivery.

As soon as your complete your course your certificate will be issued electronically and will be ready for printing.

success-icon-200x200-1

99% Success Rate!

Our course is so efficient and friendly that almost ALL of our students complete and pass it. The 1% that don’t, simply don’t finish!

support-5-star-200x200-1

5 Star Support.

Need help or have questions? Use our online messaging system for quick support, or give us a call if you prefer to talk with someone!

your-pace-200x200-1

Learn at your pace.

Log in and out of the course as often as you like. You can complete it in one day or spread it out over a few months if you want to!

devices-icon-200x200-1

From any device!

The course is accessible on any device with an internet connection! Learn from your mobile, desktop, laptop, or tablet from anywhere!

media-icon-200x200-1

Animations, Audio, Video.

Enjoy the fun animations, stunning graphics, and audio read-along features that make this course a breeze to complete.

fast-certificate-200x200-1

FAST Certificate Delivery.

As soon as your complete your course your certificate will be issued electronically and will be ready for printing.

success-icon-200x200-1

99% Success Rate!

Our course is so efficient and friendly that almost ALL of our students complete and pass it. The 1% that don’t, simply don’t finish!

support-5-star-200x200-1

5 Star Support.

Need help or have questions? Use our online messaging system for quick support, or give us a call if you prefer to talk with someone!

Have some questions?
Check out our F.A.Q!

  1. (IF PARENT TAUGHT) Check with DPS to ensure you are eligible to be a parent taught instructor, here: Texas DPS Driver Records. Then register to become one here: Purchase/Register with TDLR as PT instructor. The main requirements being 7 years of driving experience and a Texas license for at least 3 years.
  2. Complete a 32 hour classroom/online program. You will be eligible for permit after the first 6 hours and will earn a certificate that can be used to obtain your permit at the DPS after completing Module 1. You will earn a second certificate after completing all 32 hours (Module 12) that will be used at the DPS to obtain your driver’s license.
  3. Get your permit at the DPS after turning 15 and completing the first 6 hours of your 32 hour course.
  4. Complete 14 hours of behind the wheel instruction/observation with your parent/guardian or a certified driving school.
  5. Complete all 32 hours of your online course.
  6. Take and pass your DPS road skills test. This test can be taken at the DPS or any authorized 3rd party testing site, such as South Region Driving School Online.
  7. Make an appointment to visit the DPS for your driver’s license.
  1. Sign up for the South Region Driving School Adult 6HR Online Course
    If you’re 18-24 years old, Texas requires you to take an adult drivers ed course before getting your license. Our 6-hour online course gives you the flexibility to study when and where you want.If you are 25+, the 6 hour Adult driver’s education program is highly recommended and allows you to skip the DPS written exam!
  2. Receive your completion certificate
    After completing the course, pass the final exam on road signs and rules. You will need to pass the exam with a score of at least 70%.If you fail the exam, you can retake it as many times as you need to BUT you can only take it once per day.
  3. Complete the Impact Texas Adult Drivers Program (ITAD)
    Watch a free one-hour video on the dangers of distracted driving through the ITAD program. You can register for ITAD HERE.
  4. Get a Learners Permit (optional)
    Make an appointment at a DPS office and bring your course completion certificate along with all the other necessary documents (We’ll walk you through this and give you a checklist to follow at the end of the online course).Adults aren’t required to take driving lessons, but if you want practice before the road test, get a learners permit.When you get an Adult Learner’s Permit you can then practice with a local driving school or someone over 21 with a valid Texas license.
  5. Pass your DPS Driving Test and Get your License!
    Schedule a driving test at a local DPS office or if you opted to get an Adult Learner Permit, you can take your road test at a driving school near you that is authorized to offer the DPS road test.If you’re 18-24, present your drivers ed and ITAD completion certificates before the driving test.If you’re 25 or older and haven’t taken a drivers ed course, you must pass a written exam at the DPS.You’ll also need to pass a vision test, regardless of age. Remember to wear glasses or contacts if needed.Once you pass the driving test, congratulations! You’re officially a licensed Texas driver.

Short answer, no…
a. You must apply with TDLR to ensure you are eligible BEFORE purchasing. You MUST
complete these steps before purchasing this product to ensure that you are eligible and approved by TDLR. If you purchase this product before finishing these steps, there is the risk that TDLR will not approve you and we will not be able to refund you!

i. Prior to purchasing a Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide from
TDLR, parents are responsible for checking whether their criminal and/or
driver records prevent them from teaching the Parent Taught Course. (If you
are certain your record is clean, you can skip this step!)

Verify Eligibility Here: Texas DPS Driver Records 

ii. Must purchase a TDLR Online Licensing Service (texas.gov) from TDLR. The
guide costs $20. After you purchase the guide, you will receive an email from
TDLR with a link to download the guide. Check your spam and junk folders if
you do not see the email in your inbox.

iii. Purchase the online South Region Driving School Online TDLR
approved course(s): 32 PT HOUR ONLINE COURSE & 14 HOUR DRIVING ONLY
iv. Please also review the roles and responsibilities of Parent Taught
Driver Education Roles Parent Taught Driver Education Roles and
Responsibilities.pdf (texas.gov)

Yes it is, but hours cannot be transferred from one program to another. If you have already completed your 32 hour classroom and would like to transfer to parent taught for the 14 hours of driving lessons, you absolutely can.

The opposite is also true. If you completed your 32 hour parent taught online classroom and would like to transfer to a driving school (instructor led) for the 14 driving lessons, you can!

a. Driver education course: 14 years old (parent taught), 14 years 9 months (in-person)
b. Permit from DPS: must be at least 15 years old
c. Driving test: minimum of 16 years old
d. Drivers license: minimum of 16 years old after driving test

Once the student has earned their permit (minimum of 15 years old), they can begin driving, BUT they MUST be with an adult (21+ with a minimum of 1-year driving experience)

Adults over the age of 18 are not required to have logged driving hours to take the DPS road test.

Teens under the age of 18 must have at least 44 hours logged via the printable 14 hour log sheet and 30 hour practice log sheets.

A minimum of 44 hours of actual driving training

  1. 14 hours instructional (with a qualified Parent/Guardian or Certified Driving Instructor)
    7 hours driving behind-the-wheel
    7 hours of in-car observation
  2. 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice (1 hour per day) – parent/guardian
    20 hours daytime
    10 hours of nighttime

If you are testing at the DPS you will need to provide your own vehicle. If you are testing at South Region Driving School Online we will provide the vehicle.

Simply give us a call after you have obtained your permit and we will get you on the schedule ASAP!

Have some questions?
Check out our F.A.Q!

  1. (IF PARENT TAUGHT) Check with DPS to ensure you are eligible to be a parent taught instructor, here: Texas DPS Driver Records. Then register to become one here: Purchase/Register with TDLR as PT instructor. The main requirements being 7 years of driving experience and a Texas license for at least 3 years.
  2. Complete a 32 hour classroom/online program. You will be eligible for permit after the first 6 hours and will earn a certificate that can be used to obtain your permit at the DPS after completing Module 1. You will earn a second certificate after completing all 32 hours (Module 12) that will be used at the DPS to obtain your driver’s license.
  3. Get your permit at the DPS after turning 15 and completing the first 6 hours of your 32 hour course.
  4. Complete 14 hours of behind the wheel instruction/observation with your parent/guardian or a certified driving school.
  5. Complete all 32 hours of your online course.
  6. Take and pass your DPS road skills test. This test can be taken at the DPS or any authorized 3rd party testing site, such as South Region Driving School Online.
  7. Make an appointment to visit the DPS for your driver’s license.
  1. Sign up for the South Region Driving School Adult 6HR Online Course
    If you’re 18-24 years old, Texas requires you to take an adult drivers ed course before getting your license. Our 6-hour online course gives you the flexibility to study when and where you want.If you are 25+, the 6 hour Adult driver’s education program is highly recommended and allows you to skip the DPS written exam!
  2. Receive your completion certificate
    After completing the course, pass the final exam on road signs and rules. You will need to pass the exam with a score of at least 70%.If you fail the exam, you can retake it as many times as you need to BUT you can only take it once per day.
  3. Complete the Impact Texas Adult Drivers Program (ITAD)
    Watch a free one-hour video on the dangers of distracted driving through the ITAD program. You can register for ITAD HERE.
  4. Get a Learners Permit (optional)
    Make an appointment at a DPS office and bring your course completion certificate along with all the other necessary documents (We’ll walk you through this and give you a checklist to follow at the end of the online course).Adults aren’t required to take driving lessons, but if you want practice before the road test, get a learners permit.When you get an Adult Learner’s Permit you can then practice with a local driving school or someone over 21 with a valid Texas license.
  5. Pass your DPS Driving Test and Get your License!
    Schedule a driving test at a local DPS office or if you opted to get an Adult Learner Permit, you can take your road test at a driving school near you that is authorized to offer the DPS road test.If you’re 18-24, present your drivers ed and ITAD completion certificates before the driving test.If you’re 25 or older and haven’t taken a drivers ed course, you must pass a written exam at the DPS.You’ll also need to pass a vision test, regardless of age. Remember to wear glasses or contacts if needed.Once you pass the driving test, congratulations! You’re officially a licensed Texas driver.

Short answer, no…
a. You must apply with TDLR to ensure you are eligible BEFORE purchasing. You MUST
complete these steps before purchasing this product to ensure that you are eligible and approved by TDLR. If you purchase this product before finishing these steps, there is the risk that TDLR will not approve you and we will not be able to refund you!

i. Prior to purchasing a Parent Taught Driver Education Program Guide from
TDLR, parents are responsible for checking whether their criminal and/or
driver records prevent them from teaching the Parent Taught Course. (If you
are certain your record is clean, you can skip this step!)

Verify Eligibility Here: Texas DPS Driver Records 

ii. Must purchase a TDLR Online Licensing Service (texas.gov) from TDLR. The
guide costs $20. After you purchase the guide, you will receive an email from
TDLR with a link to download the guide. Check your spam and junk folders if
you do not see the email in your inbox.

iii. Purchase the online South Region Driving School Online TDLR
approved course(s): 32 PT HOUR ONLINE COURSE & 14 HOUR DRIVING ONLY
iv. Please also review the roles and responsibilities of Parent Taught
Driver Education Roles Parent Taught Driver Education Roles and
Responsibilities.pdf (texas.gov)

Yes it is, but hours cannot be transferred from one program to another. If you have already completed your 32 hour classroom and would like to transfer to parent taught for the 14 hours of driving lessons, you absolutely can.

The opposite is also true. If you completed your 32 hour parent taught online classroom and would like to transfer to a driving school (instructor led) for the 14 driving lessons, you can!

a. Driver education course: 14 years old (parent taught), 14 years 9 months (in-person)
b. Permit from DPS: must be at least 15 years old
c. Driving test: minimum of 16 years old
d. Drivers license: minimum of 16 years old after driving test

Once the student has earned their permit (minimum of 15 years old), they can begin driving, BUT they MUST be with an adult (21+ with a minimum of 1-year driving experience)

Adults over the age of 18 are not required to have logged driving hours to take the DPS road test.

Teens under the age of 18 must have at least 44 hours logged via the printable 14 hour log sheet and 30 hour practice log sheets.

A minimum of 44 hours of actual driving training

  1. 14 hours instructional (with a qualified Parent/Guardian or Certified Driving Instructor)
    7 hours driving behind-the-wheel
    7 hours of in-car observation
  2. 30 hours of behind-the-wheel practice (1 hour per day) – parent/guardian
    20 hours daytime
    10 hours of nighttime

If you are testing at the DPS you will need to provide your own vehicle. If you are testing at South Region Driving School Online we will provide the vehicle.

Simply give us a call after you have obtained your permit and we will get you on the schedule ASAP!

We care about our customers.

Providing our customers and students with a good experience is our top priority. We will do everything we can to answer questions, offer support, and guide you to success.

If you ever need anything from us, we are just a few clicks away! When you enroll in one of our courses you will automatically have access to our online message support system and our staff is always on standby to offer assistance when needed. If you are not yet enrolled, feel free to call us, email us, or message us using the contact form found on this page.